The Executive Committee


Staturory bodies The Executive Committee is the decision-making statutory organ of the Centre.
On 5 May, the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe adopted a new statutory resolution for the North-South Centre. One of the main lines of the Centre's new statute, which entered into force on 1 June 2011, concerns its statutory bodies. In fact, the two former statutory organs of the Centre merged into a new "Executive Committee".

New mission

The Executive Committee is the decision-making body of the Centre. The different components of the quadrilogue are represented as follows:
A government representative for each member state of the Centre
Four parliamentarians, 2 each from the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and the European Parliament
Four members representing organised civil society active in priority activity areas for the Centre and ready to engage in concrete cooperation
A representative of the European Commission
A representative of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe in an advisory

The Executive Committee meets twice a year, in principle in Lisbon and in Strasbourg.






Calendar of activities

North-South Centre North-South Centre North-South Centre

Contact us

North-South Centre of the Council of Europe
Rua de Sao Caetano, 32
1200-829 Lisbon, Portugal
Tel. (+351) 21 358 40 30
Fax (+351) 21 358 40 37 / 72

North-South Centre