European Diploma for Protected Areas: Awarded Areas in Austria

Krimml Falls Natural Site

The Krimml Falls are located at the north-western margin of the Hohe Tauern, near the Tyrolian border in the area of Krimml, the westernmost community of the federal Land of Salzburg. The Hohe Tauern are part of the impressive and diverse range of the Eastern Alps, in which lies the highest mountain of Austria, the Grossglockner (3798 m.). The northern valleys of the Hohe Tauern often have U-shaped cross-sections and hanging valleys, due to the action of ice, above the main Valley, which is dissected by gorges. Many waterfalls are found there and among them the falls of the Krimml Ache. With a drainage area of 110.7 km² and a total fall of 380 metres and an average discharge of 7 cubic metres of water per second, they rank eighth among the great waterfalls of the world.

For information:
Nationalpark Hohe Tauern
Gerlos Straße 18
A-5730 Mittersill
Tel.: +43 (0) 65 62/408 49 26

EUNIS factsheet
40 years anniversary of Krimml Falls
Video : the sound of the falls

Thayatal National Park

By decision of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, the European Diploma for Protected Areas of the Council of Europe has been awarded to the National Park of Thayatal for the very “natural” state of the park, its biological components and the model co-operation on either side of the border with the Czech Podyjí National Park. The Austrian part of the National Park covers 1.330 ha, 1.260 ha are nature zones and on 70 ha. of nature zone with management interference for the protection of ecosystems is authorized. The buffer zone comprises less than one hectare.

The Thayatal is an impressive valley with steep cliffs and gentle meadows, natural forests and a fascinating fauna. In places where economic interference has left its marks, where conifers were planted in inappropriate locations, the national park staff is trying to foster the growth of indigenous trees. Research is an important activity in national parks as it enables to gain insight on natural processes through long-term observation.


Wachau Protected Landscape

The "Wachau" lies in the middle of Lower Austria some 65 km west of Vienna. The Wachau is that stretch of the Danube where the river cuts a roughly 33 km long valley through the basement complex of Bohemian massif between Melk in the west and Krems in the east, embracing also the hillsides visible from the Danube, including the eastern slopes of the Jauerling facing the Danube at "Spitzer Graben".

By virtue of its scenic, cultural, economic, biological, and geological individuality the Wachau can be said to be a self-contained yet richly variational region with very special, impressive characteristics, high aesthetic and cultural value. As a synthesis of natural landscapes and urbanisation, an ensemble of highly unusual, unmistakable character. The region is also closed upon itself in an historical sense. Archeological findings made there suggest that the Wachau was one of the first regions in Europe to become civilised. Its villages, buildings, and civilisation point to a continuous development going back for more than one thousand years.

For information:
Arbeitskreis Wachau
Schlossgasse 3
A-3620 Spitz
Tel.: +43 (0)2713 30000

EUNIS factsheet

Useful links