Parties to the Faro Convention


The Framework Convention on the Value of Cultural Heritage for Society (the Faro Convention) was drafted between 2003 and 2005 by a select committee of experts. It was adopted by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe on 13 October 2005 and opened for signature to member states in Faro, Portugal, on 27 October of the same year. The Faro Convention entered into force on 1 June 2011.


To date, 17 member states have ratified the convention: Armenia, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Luxembourg, the Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Ukraine and “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia”. In addition, five states have signed the convention: Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Italy and San Marino. The signing process is under way in a number of other member states of the Council of Europe.




The Convention

Text of the Convention

Explanatory Report



Mail Faro