Intercultural city: Limassol, Cyprus


Limassol is the second largest city in Cyprus. Limassol is divided into 6 administrative units; Limassol, Mesa Geitonia, Kato Polemidia, Agios Athanasios Germasogeia and Ipsonas (since 2012 municipal elections). Limassol Municipality is the only administrative unit to participate in the Intercultural Cities network.


Population diversity

The district of Limassol has a population of 235,000 inhabitants. The city’s urban area composed of the 6 municipalities mentioned above is inhabited by 176,700 people. The majority group,Greek-Cypriots (the autochthonous people) make up 83% of the city’s population. Non-nationals make up 17% of Limassol total inhabitants. The most important minority groups come from: UK, Romania, Bulgaria, Greece, Russia, Philippines and Vietnam.


Profile and activities

Intercultural profile


Intercultural Cities Index

What is the ICC Index?


Mapping of Intercultural organisations and issues in Limassol


Useful links

  Interview with Savvas Stouppas, Limassol's Deputy Mayor: The Challenge Of Multiculturalism In Cyprus [26/03/2012]

Leaflet: Limassol – One city, the whole world



General information

Official website


Andreas Christou



Limassol on the map