<font color='#55563B' size='2'>The Congress Monitoring Committee meets in Nicosia</font>

The Congress Monitoring Committee meets in Nicosia  [19/02/2014]

The members of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress met in Nicosia (Cyprus) on 19 February 2014. Among other matters they examined the state of local and regional democracy in Sweden, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and Armenia and recent developments in Portugal, the Republic of Moldova and Finland. The committee held specific discussions on the post-monitoring process in Bosnia and Herzegovina and the current situation in Ukraine. The trend in the state of local democracy in Georgia was addressed in the presence of Tengiz Shergelashvili, Georgia's First Deputy Minister for Regional Development and Infrastructure. In the context of the committee meeting, a delegation from the Congress, led by the Monitoring Committee's Chair, Lars O. Molin (Sweden, EPP/CCE) and composed in particular of Jean-Claude Frécon, President of the Congress Chamber of Local Authorities (France, SOC) and Andreas Kiefer, Secretary General of the Congress, also had a meeting with the President of the Republic of Cyprus, Nicos Anastasiades, and Interior Minister, Socratis Hasikos. 

Press release  

La Commission de suivi du Congrès se réunit à Nicosie.  [19/02/2014]

Les membres de la Commission de suivi du Congrès s'est réunie à Nicosie (Chypre) le 19 février 2014. Ils ont examiné notamment la situation de la démocratie locale et régionale en Suède, aux Pays-Bas, au Royaume-Uni et en Arménie ainsi que les développements récents au Portugal, en République de Moldova et en Finlande. Le processus de post-suivi en Bosnie-Herzégovine, ainsi que la situation actuelle en Ukraine ont fait l’objet d’un examen particulier. L’évolution de la situation de la démocratie locale en Géorgie a été discutée en présence de Tengiz Shergelashvili, Premier Adjoint au Ministre du Développement Régional et de l'Infrastructure de Géorgie. En marge de la réunion, une délégation du Congrès menée par le Président de la Commission de suivi, Lars O. Molin (Suède PPE/CCE) accompagné notamment de Jean-Claude Frécon, Président de la Chambre des pouvoirs locaux du Congrès (France, SOC) et d’Andreas Kiefer, Secrétaire Général du Congrès, a rencontrée le Président de la République de Chypre, Nicos Anastasiadis.  

Communiqué de presse