Sie sind auf der Seite : Der Europarat in Kürze > Wer wir sind
Wer wir sind, was wir tun


Wer wir sind


Der Europarat ist Europas führende Organisation für Menschenrechte. Er hat 47 Mitgliedsstaaten, von denen 28 auch Mitglied der Europäischen Union sind. Alle Mitgliedsstaaten des Europarates haben die Europäische Menschenrechtskonvention gezeichnet, ein Vertrag zum Schutz der Menschenrechte, der Demokratie und der Rechtsstaatlichkeit.

Der Europäische Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte überwacht die Umsetzung der Konvention in den Mitgliedsstaaten. Einzelpersonen können Beschwerden über Menschenrechtsverletzungen beim Gerichtshof in Straßburg einreichen, wenn sie alle innerstaatlichen Rechtsmittel in dem betroffenen Staat ausgeschöpft haben. Die Europäische Union bereitet die Unterzeichnung der Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention vor, wodurch ein gemeinsamer europäischer Rechtsraum für über 820 Millionen Bürger geschaffen wird.


Hauptsitz und Büros
Der Europarat hat seinen Sitz in Straßburg, Frankreich. Er hat 2 200 Angestellte und unterhält externe Büros und Verbindungsbüros zu anderen internationalen Organisationen. Die Europäischen Jungendzentren in Straßburg und Budapest bieten jungen Menschen Schulungen in den Bereichen Demokratie und Menschenrechte an.

Haushalt
Der Gesamthaushalt des Europarates für 2013 beläuft sich auf 404 Millionen € und wird vor allem von den Mitgliedsstaaten finanziert.

 

Our corporate film

This short film, with no commentary, provides a lively overview of the main activities of the Council of Europe. The focus is on the link between the Organisation's work and the daily lives of Europe's citizens.

Who we are


Who we are


The Council of Europe is the continent’s leading human rights organisation. It includes 47 member states, 28 of which are members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

The European Court of Human Rights oversees the implementation of the Convention in the member states. Individuals can bring complaints of human rights violations to the Strasbourg Court once all possibilities of appeal have been exhausted in the member state concerned. The European Union is preparing to sign the European Convention on Human Rights, creating a common European legal space for over 820 million citizens.

Headquarters and offices
The Council of Europe has its headquarters in Strasbourg, France. It employs 2 200 people, and maintains external and liaison offices to other international organisations. The European Youth Centres in Strasbourg and Budapest offer training for young people in democracy and human rights issues.

 

Our corporate film

This short film, with no commentary, provides a lively overview of the main activities of the Council of Europe. The focus is on the link between the Organisation's work and the daily lives of Europe's citizens.