Committee of Ministers Chairmanship – Malta : November 2002 - May 2003

Chair of the Committee of Ministers

The Foreign Affairs Ministers of the 44 Council of Europe member states hold the Chair of the Committee of Ministers for a term of 6 months in rotation. At the end of each Session of the Committee of Ministers, the Chairmanship falls to the next member state in the alphabetical order of the English country names. At the conclusion of the Session of the Committee of Ministers on 7 November 2002 in Strasbourg, Malta assumed the Chairmanship of the Council of Europe’s executive body for the next six months.

The Committee of Ministers in brief

Previous chairmanships

Malta and the Council of Europe

Photo exhibition ''Colours of Malta''

Secretary General Walter Schwimmer and Chairman of the Committee of Ministers' Deputies, Permanent Representative of Malta Joseph Licari on 12 May 2003 inaugurated a photo exhibition ''Colours of Malta'' in the Palais de l'Europe, on the occasion of the completion of Malta's chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers.

The exhibition on-line

The prorities of the Maltese Presidency

Maltese Foreign Minister Joseph Borg set out the priorities of the Council of Europe Maltese presidency for the next six months. It will focus on two basic objectives : to continue the process of unification of Greater Europe on the basis of the cooperation structures offered by the Council of Europe and to strengthen the social and cultural dimensions of European integration on a continent-wide scale. (more…)

Full speech

Programme of work of the Maltese Chairmanship

Special file “Committee of Ministers session”

Joseph Borg hopes for an early end of the war in Iraq

''One can only hope that this war will come to an early end and that all the suffering and disruption experienced by ordinary Iraqi people will also cease in the very short term,'' stressed Joseph Borg, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Malta and Chairman-in-Office of the Committee of Ministers, when presenting the Committee of Ministers’ communication to the Parliamentary Assembly on Thursday 3 April. (more…)
Committee of Ministers’ communication

Assembly session – April 2003
Assembly session – January 2003
Special file « The crisis in Irak »

Serbia and Montenegro, the Council of Europe's 45th member state

Serbia and Montenegro became on the 3 April 2003 the Council of Europe 45th member State. The ceremony was attended by the President of Serbia and Montenegro, Svetozvar Marovic, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Goran Svilanovic, and Speaker of Parliament, Dragoljub Micunovic. Serbia and Montenegro acceded to the Statute of the Council of Europe and signed the European Convention on Human Rights, Protocols Nos 6 and 13 concerning the abolition of the death penalty, as well as Protocols Nos 1, 4, 7 and 12. (more…)

Press releases

Special file on the accession of Serbia and Montenegro

Malta : A Council of Europe conference on better access to social rights

To analyse obstacles which impede access to social rights, despite fundamental achievements in Europe, to discuss concrete examples of how obstacles are overcome within Council of Europe member states - these are the main objectives of a conference organised by the Council’s Directorate for Social Cohesion and the Maltese Government on 14 and 15 November in Saint Julians (Malta). (more…)


Useful links

Joseph Borg, LL.D., LL.M (Wales), MP., Minister of Foreign Affairs of malta

Joseph Licari, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary

Committee of Ministers website

Malta government