Committee of Ministers Chairmanship

Russian Federation - May to November 2006

Français Deutsch Italiano РУССКИЙ  

The Ministers for Foreign Affairs of Council of Europe member states hold the Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers on a rotating basis, each for a six-month term. Alphabetical order in the English language is followed.

The official handover of the chairmanship from Romania to Russia took place on 19 May, 2006 at the 116th Session of the Committee of Ministers
in Strasbourg. Russia held the chairmanship until November 15, 2006.

May 2006 - Priorities of the Russian Chairmanship
November 2006 - Conclusions of the Russian Chairmanship

Major events organised during the Russian Chairmanship

A future convention to combat ''pharmaceutical crime'' (23-24 octobre)

Press release
Moscow Declaration

Meeting in Moscow for European Ministers of Sport (20 - 21 October)

Press release

Special file

Forum for the future of Democracy (18 - 19 October)

Special file

European Youth Forum: "All Different - All Equal" (21 - 25 September)

Press release
Campaign website

Launch of European Heritage Days in St Petersburg (21-23 September)

Press release
Special file


Conference on Improving the quality of life of people with disabilities in Europe (21-22 September)

Press release

Protection of the Rights of the Child: seminar in Moscow (14 - 15 September)

Campaign website

Inter-cultural and inter-religious dialogue: Conference in Nizhniy Novgorod (September 7-9)

Press release



Reference websites
Committee of Ministers
Council of Europe website in Russian
Chairmanship site
Background information
Russia and the Council of Europe
Previous chair of the Committee of Ministers
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Russia
Useful links
Facts and figures
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia
List of the Russian delegation of the Parliamentary Assembly