Committee of Ministers Chairmanship – Norway : May 2004 – November 2004 

Programme of Activities

SEPTEMBER 2004

 

6 to 7 September 2004

Conference: “Democratic Governance in Transitional Societies.” – Oslo

Ministry of Foreign Affairs in co-operation with NUPI (Norwegian Institute of International Affairs).

Contacts:

NUPI: Ms. Sølvi Myhrengen, +47 22 99 40 00

Email: solvi.myhrengen@nupi.no

Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Ms Mette Strengehagen, +47 22 24 34 55

Email: mette.strengehagen@mfa.no

 

6 to 8 September 2004

The Parliamentary Assembly –Meeting of the Standing Committee - Oslo

Official opening by the President of the Norwegian Assembly. Mr Jan Petersen, Minister of Foreign Affairs and at present also Chairman of the Committee of Ministers in the Council of Europe will give a speech followed by Q&A from the Parliamentarians.

Contacts:

Council of Europe, Secretary to the Standing Committee:

Mr Horst Schade, +33 3 88 41 20 75

Email: horst.SCHADE@coe.int

Secretariat of the Parliamentary Delegation to the Council of Europe:

Mr Dag Stangnes, +47 23 31 36 56, Email: dst@stortinget.no

Ms Sissel Elvestad, +47 23 31 35 56, Email: se@stortinget.no

 

30 September to 1 October 2004

Conference “Strengthening local democracy and democratic participation in a changing world” – Oslo

Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development.

Contacts:

Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development:

Deputy Director General Ms Greta Billing: +47 22 24 72 25

Email: greta.billing@krd.dep.no

Secretary Ms. Kjersti Barsok, +47 22 24 72 11,

Email: kjersti.barsok@krd.dep.no

 

OCTOBER 2004

 

15 to 17 October 2004

Conference: “Alternatives to migration – prevention of conflicts” - Budapest, Hungary

Seminar for Roma/Sinti young people in co-operation with the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development, The Council of Europe and the NGO FERYP (Forum for European Young Roma People).

Contacts:

The Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development:

Ms Tove Skotvedt, +47 22 24 69 56, Email: tove.skotvedt@krd.dep.no

Council of Europe: Roma/Gypsies Division: Mr Michael Guet, +33 3 90 21 49 63, Email: michael.GUET@coe.int

 

NOVEMBER 2004

 

7 to 9 November 2004

“Responses to violence in everyday life in a democratic society”

Conference organised by the Ministry of Justice – Oslo

Contacts:

Council of Europe: Project Manager Mr Jean-Pierre Titz, +33 3 88 41 26 09

Email: Jean-Pierre.TITZ@coe.int

Project Administrator Mr Lauri Sivonen, +33 3 88 41 47 97

Email: lauri.SIVONEN@coe.int

The Ministry of Justice: Assistant Director General Ms Ragnhild Bendiksby, + 47 22 24 55 72

Email: ragnhild.bendiksby@jd.dep.no

The National Police Directorate: Police Officer Ole Johann Strømman, +47 99 20 77 45

Email: ole.stromman@pod.politiet.no

 

8 to 9 November 2004

Seminar jointly organised by the Ministry of Social Affairs and the Ministry of Children and Family Affairs: “Human Rights and Disability”, Strasbourg

Seminar with special focus on disabled children and their families, with the purpose to promote the Human Rights of persons with disabilities. Will be opened by the Minister of Social Affairs.

Contact:

Ministry of Social Affairs: Ms Karin Zetlitz (+47 22 24 85 93)

Email: karin.zetlitz@sos.dep.no

 
 

TO BE CONFIRMED

25 to 26 October 2004

Seminar: Implementation of the Court Reform in the Council of Europe. Strasbourg/Oslo.

Organised by the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Council of Europe.