Gamma Accession
Monaco's accession to the Council of Europe
5 October 2004
Speech by H.S.H. Crown Prince Albert of Monaco
Press conference
Accession ceremony

Resolution adopted by the Committee of Ministers Parliamentary Assembly background documents
List and map of members States
H.S.H.Crown Prince Albert
Jan Petersen, Committee of Ministers President
Peter Schieder, Parliamentary Assembly President
Terry Davis, Council of Europe Secretary General
How accession works
Monaco and the Council of Europe
HSH Crown Prince Albert
Site of the Monacan Palace
Site of the Monacan Government
The Council of Europe's Committee of Ministers, on 2 September 2004, decided to invite the Principality of Monaco to become the Organisation's 46th member state.

The decision follows the favourable opinion adopted by the Assembly on 27 April 2004, and positive developments concerning the revision of the 1930 Convention between Monaco and France.

The Principality of Monaco applied to join the Council of Europe on 15 October 1998.

Monaco's Crown Prince Albert represented the Principality at the ceremony on 5 October 2004 to mark his country's accession to the Council of Europe. He made a speech in the Assembly Chamber.

The accession ceremony took place in the main hall of the Palais, followed by the hoisting of the flag on the forecourt outside the main entrance.

At 14h40 Prince Albert will hold a press conference (room 1).

The accession ceremony and the press conference will be broadcast live.
The leaders of the Council of Europe welcomed Monaco's accession to the organisation (more...)

HSH Hereditary Prince Albert: With all its idiosyncrasies, a State like Monaco has a place in Greater Europe (more...)

Monaco’s needful union with its European environment (more...)
Message by H.S.H. Prince Rainier of Monaco

In an interview, Monaco's Hereditary Prince Albert says that Monaco wishes to become part of the greater Europe because of its commitment to the organisation's human values of respect for human rights, justice, concord and peace.
Committee of Ministers
Parliamentary Assembly